Our Mission

The Chippewa Valley Coalition for Youth and Families joins Chippewa Valley Schools, Family, and Community in a partnership to prevent and reduce youth substance use and its negative consequences and prevent youth suicide. 

More About Us

The Chippewa Valley Coalition for Youth and Families is a school-community coalition that serves the geographic area of Chippewa Valley Schools and includes parts of Clinton and Macomb Townships. The Coalition was awarded a federal Drug Free Communities Grant from the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in September 2009. In 2014, the Coalition was re-awarded grant funding, which ends September 2019. Coalition efforts are also supported by donations and funds raised.

The Coalition includes representation of all sectors of the community. Coalition members work together to reduce youth use of alcohol, marijuana, vape and other drugs, and misuse of prescription drugs through school and community prevention education, implementing long-term environmental strategies to create community change, and advocacy for public policy that protects our youth. The Coalition creates programs, campaigns, and materials that have been used across the region, state, and nation.

We thank our many Coalition volunteers and community partners that contribute their time and talents to the following Coalition committees and groups:

  • Chippewa Valley and Dakota High Coalition Teen Councils, our youth members
  • The Interfaith/Chippewa Valley Partnership, a network connecting the Coalition to 22 local churches
  • Youth Alcohol Prevention Committee
  • Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention Committee
  • Youth Marijuana Prevention Committee
  • Youth Vape Prevention Committee
  • Elementary Steering Committee for Parent Education

Youth Involvement – Coalition Teen Councils (CTCs)

There are Coalition Teen Council (CTC) comprised of students at both Chippewa Valley and Dakota High Schools.  Student members of the CTCs initiate drug prevention programming at their schools, engage in outreach to younger students, provide school and community programs, and are the “voice of youth” for the Coalition. CTC Moderators are: Chippewa Valley High School-Virginia Adams & Marla Lemley; Dakota High School-Laurie Black & Stephanie Lange

Coalition Staff

Charlene MGunn
Executive Director
Barbara Towner

Executive Board of the Coalition

Chairperson, Diane Blain
Director of School & Community Public Relations
Chippewa Valley Schools

Secretary, Kim Zuchora
Community Member

Treasurer, Michele Harrison
Title 1 Coordinator 
Chippewa Valley Schools

Dr. Charlene McGunn

Barbara Towner

More Information

For more information about the Chippewa Valley Coalition for Youth and Families, please email info@cvcoalition.org or call (586) 723-2360.